Act II: Got to Have Some Fun

I keep asking myself, “How do you follow that???”  The past two weeks have been full of life changing memories and miracles as we have watched our friend’s son progress from near death to going back to college next week!  Truly amazing.  What do I write next???

As I pondered that I realized once again the parallel to the art biz.  And perhaps the art biz is in fact playing into my emotional state about blogging as well.  As a part of our weekend to Indianapolis, I delivered a major piece and collection as I have shared previously.  Artistically I have also been asking myself “How do I follow that?”  It’s a familiar question upon delivery of a large commission or the end of a terrific show, or simply the completion of a painting that I know in my knower is a cut above.

The answer came in simply not trying to create another masterpiece but rather in having fun painting small pieces in a new technique.  When in doubt, let the child within play.  That is what I have learned through the years.  To force inspiration never results in a promising result, whether it be a painting or a blog.

So here I am, a week or so later, sharing the results of my labors this week…but really I was just havin’ fun!  Hope you enjoy!

  I even reverted to childhood memories as I named them:  “Grape Lollies”, “Lemon Lollies” and “Purple Tree”.  Fanciful, fun and oh so therapeutic.  All are just 6″ square and will adorn my tent as I travel to Madison, IN.  for a show this weekend.

Until next post…hope you let your inner child loose to enjoy the day!

About Deborah Gall

Professional artist who paints life as I see it: full of beautiful color, imagery, mystery, and possibility. The journey of life is full of adventure. Just trying to enjoy the ride. View all posts by Deborah Gall

Leave a comment