Speed Painting


You’ve probably heard of speed chess but how about speed painting?  That’s how it felt last night to have one hour to paint a 30″x24″ canvas.  I got home and felt like I’d just run a 5K!  But it was also fun and rewarding to see people respond to the process and painting.  I must say all of my preparation was absolutely worth it.  Even the written guide to know where I needed to go next.  There’s just something about painting before a live audience that makes your brain skip a beat.

Photo to the left is midway through the show when the host checked on the progress.  At that time I knew I had to step it up to get the basic details in.

Photo to the right is the “Reveal” at the end of the show.  The painting isn’t finished by my standards, but there were those who thought it looked complete.  That was my goal.  As an artist I am more particular about the details than anyone else.  That’s when I know a piece is finished.  When I can look at it and not say “Oops need to fix that”  I know I can sign my name as the final stamp of approval. 

About Deborah Gall

Professional artist who paints life as I see it: full of beautiful color, imagery, mystery, and possibility. The journey of life is full of adventure. Just trying to enjoy the ride. View all posts by Deborah Gall

2 responses to “Speed Painting

  • kleinjie

    My work always looks awful if done quickly, in my opinion only very talented people can paint fast and do a good job 🙂

    • Deborah Gall

      I must admit that the painting did not meet my standards when I left the fair. But two hours in the studio later it’s ready to be sold. The cool thing was that several people thought it looked good that night….

Leave a comment